Seiko SKX007J Diver’s 200m review

skx007j 2 small11Seiko SKX007J Divers 200m review

Watch History

  • Date acquired: Jan 26 2005, Feb 22 2005
  • Production date: Nov 2003,
  • Source: Capital Mall, eBay
  • Price paid: USD98 (w/o shipping), USD140 (w/o shipping)
  • Status: In production

 

Background

The SKX007 is perhaps the most evergreen diver’s watch from Seiko. First introduced in 1996 to replace the 7002-series divers, it has become an icon of the quintessential Seiko diver. Eleven years on, this model is still sold by most authorized Seiko dealers worldwide to this day. The SKX007 became so popular that it spawned several models based on the 7s26-0020 caseback design.

Other models that share the 7s26-002x case design include the:

  • SKX009 (deep blue dial with red/blue “Pepsi” bezel insert)
  • SKX011J (orange dial with black bezel and gold numerals)
  • SKX173 (black dial with rectangular markers, North American model)
  • SKXA35 (yellow dial with rectangular markers, North American model)

 

The SKX007 also spun off two new models sometime in 2004, the SKXA53K and SKXA55K. These were nicknamed the “Bullet” divers owing to the bullet-shaped index markers. While these two models share the overall design of the SKX007, Seiko classifies the caseback numbers as the 7s26-02K0 instead.

 

 

skx173 thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m reviewkxa35l thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m reviewskxa53 profile thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m reviewskxa55 profile thumb1Seiko SKX007J Divers 200m review

 From left to right: SKX173, SKXA35, SKXA53 and SKXA55

 

Perhaps due to aesthetic reasons the SKXA53K and A55K fared poorly compared to the ubiquitous SKX007/009 models and are not as widely sold at the stores. Purists lambasted the SKXA53/55’s strange chapter ring that had a red or black colored arc which served no useful purpose. The bullet-shaped index markers were also presented a radical departure from the traditional rectangular or round shaped markers in the 7s26-002x family.

The SKX007 was an acquired taste for me. Having owned the SKX779K and SKX781K Black and Orange Monsters respectively, I thought the design was just too plain and common. The SKX007K and its Pepsi sibling, the SKX009K can be seen in almost every authorized Seiko dealer throughout Asia.

It took a while for me to fully appreciate the SKX007 and it was this picture below, which was taken by Mike B.D. and posted in the SCWF that made me sit up and take notice. I’ve collected tons of SKX007 photos but this was the one that made me pull the proverbial trigger on this watch. icon smileSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review

 

d8 12 s thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review

 

As you can see, the above photo was tastefully photographed and highlights the classic lines of the SKX007. I liked his picture a lot that it graced my desktop computer as a wallpaper for some time.

Not long after, I decided to buy the rarer SKX007J, which has the “Made in Japan” markings on the dial and caseback. The “J” version also sports additional “21 jewels” text below the “Diver’s 200m” marking, to distinguish it from the garden variety SKX007K. Some people have claimed that their SKX007J is more accurate out of the box compared to the more common SKX007K but I think this was rather an exception rather than the norm.

Since the SKX007J was not available in Malaysia, I had to source mine from eBay. After researching for the best prices around, I won the watch at an unbelievable USD98. I liked the watch a lot that I bought another one from the same seller (Capital Mall), but by then the seller had decided not to auction the SKX007Js and instead offer for a Buy-It-Now (BIN) price of USD140. So the average price paid for each watch was USD119, which is not too bad considering that some online sellers price them at USD150 or more.

Quality-wise, both the SKX007J and SKX007K have no significant difference. Price-wise, due to its exclusivity the SKX007J usually costs more than the “K” variant. The SKX007J often comes with English/Arabic day language as it is meant to be exported to the Arab speaking, Middle East countries. However a small number of the “J” variants have been known to be fitted with English/Roman languages for other markets.

 

Here are borrowed photos of the SKX007K (left) and the SKX007J (right). Note the bottom part of the dial of the SKX007K just says “DIVER’S 200m” in red.

 

26200834 thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review japan thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review

 The SKX007K (left) and the SKX007J (right)

 

As for the SKX007J, you will find beneath the DIVER’S 200m are the additional text, “21 JEWELS” and “MADE IN JAPAN” at the bottom of the dial.

The second hand of the SKX007 signaled a drastic change from its predecessors, the 7002, 6309, 6105 and 6217 line of divers. Instead of the lumed dot or “ball” on the tip of the second hand, the Seiko decided to place the SKX007’s ball on the opposite side - the short end of the second hand.

Some purists don’t like the placement of the lumed ball on the “wrong side” as it broke away from the 40-year old Seiko tradition of having it on at the tip of the second hand. Others like me welcome the change as it would get pretty boring and predictable if the lumed ball was always at the tip.

Many agreed that the purpose of the lumed ball is to indicate that the watch is indeed running, which is useful when you’re diving in the dark depths of the sea. Recreational scuba diving doesn’t need precision timing - all you need to know is how many minutes you’ve been underwater; not necessarily to the nearest second.

 

7002700101 thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review

The 7002 was the last model to have the lume on the second hand tip. Seiko resurrected the lumed ball at the tip design with the SKX173, SKXA35, SKXA53 and SKXA55 models.

 

Seiko later reintroduced the second hand with the lumed ball at the tip (a ‘la 7002 and 6309) with the North American market, SKX173 and SKXA35 models. Shortly after that the same “traditional” second hand was available with the SKXA53 and A55 “Bullet” models.

 

 

Look and feel

The SKX007 is a full sized diver but smaller compared to the newer Seiko divers such as the quartz SHC-series “Sawtooth” and the automatic SBDC-series “Scuba” or “Sumo” models. When I first saw it on someone’s wrist I thought it was a pretty big watch but compared to the current trend of over-sized fashion timepieces (such as those from Nautica) it’s of the “right size”.

As much as I prefer larger sized watches nowadays, I find the SKX007 perfectly balanced for my 6.5" wrist. The lume is brighter and more sensitive than the non-diver Seikos you can think of but falls short of the models from the Sawtooth, Knight, Sumo and a few models from the Prospex diver family. Dial visibility is excellent and reading the time is a breeze, thanks to the fat arrow-like hour and minute hands.

 

skx007j 1584 medium thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review skx007jm 1594 medium thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review pmmm 7911 medium thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review skx007j 642 medium thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review

Some photos of my SKX007J

SKX007 Custom Mods

The SKX007 is a cult favorite among Seiko dive watch hobbyists. It is easily modified, from subtle changes by replacing the hands to all-out modifications involving sandblasting the case, dial, bezel and hands replacement with Seiko or non-Seiko parts. Its duality in its persona makes it a versatile timepiece - with Jubilee or Oyster bracelets it makes a nice sporty/dressy watch that you can wear to functions and formal events.

Put on a striking rally leather strap with customized parts, it’s transformed into a mean looking timepiece for the outdoors and parties. Perfect for the individualist who wants a very unique looking SKX007.

Here are some examples of very interesting mods of SKX007 divers. The modification possibilities are endless and are only limited to your budget and imagination! icon smileSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review

 

(All photos depicted belong to their respective copyright owners)

 

3 small thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review 1106180504 thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review 779dial 007case thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review
1167512751 thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review dscn1854a medium thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review 66671b43abf17a406511f7ff medium thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review
692507ef0 thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review 1108091196 thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review w31f600 1 thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review
1130126366 thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review yao thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review bobt007bracelet medium thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review
1185725879 medium thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review orange br bezel1 thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review 1120067734 thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review

 

 

My two personal favorite SKX007K mods happen to belong to “Busdriver Mike” and “Ray K” respectively. Mike’s SKX007K mod involves a radical dial replacement from a 7s-caliber Seiko military automatic with a custom made red second hand, while Ray K’s mod is a very subtle-yet-elegant bezel replacement (from the SKX011J).

Two mod ideas from opposite sides of the spectrum and both are simply….well, I’m kind of lost for words. icon smileSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review

 

busdriver mike skx007k thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review ray k thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review

 Above: Busdriver Mike’s very sporty SKX007K mod (left) and Ray K’s elegant makeover (right)

 

 

Dimensions

OK, let's get back to the basic watch. The measurements of the SKX007 are as follows:

  • Diameter: 42 mm (w/o crown), 45 mm (w/crown)
  • Lug-to-lug: 45.5 mm
  • Thickness: 12.7 mm
  • Lug width: 22 mm, tapering to 20mm at clasp (48A2-JG Oyster bracelet)

 

 

Specifications

  • Caliber: 7s26A, 21 jewels (7s26B from Oct 2006 onwards)
  • Caseback type: 7s26-0020
  • Movement: Automatic, non-hacking
  • Beat rate: 21,600 bph (6 beats/sec)
  • Loss/gain: Less than 40 sec/day
  • Power reserve: About 42 hours
  • Calendar: Day/date, dual language
  • Construction: Stainless steel
  • Crystal: Hardlex glass, flat profile
  • Crown: Screw-in type
  • Bezel: Unidirectional, 120 graduations
  • W.R. rating: 200m, ISO certified
  • Luminous material: LumiBrite™
  • Movement Japan, cased in Japan (SKX007J)
  • Movement Singapore/Malaysia, cased in China (SKX007K)

 

 

Conclusion

If you’re looking for your first Seiko automatic diver’s watch, I would highly recommend the SKX007 whether the “J” or “K” version. It’s a tough watch and powered by the reliable 7s26 automatic movement. Those who have owned an SKX007 in the mid-90s can attest to its reliability. True, it’s no Casio G-Shock but for a mechanical watch I’m pretty sure it can survive harsh punishment and withstand rough use. I’ve seen pre-owned SKX007s at the flea market in varying states of condition - all of them still run when I shook the watches.

In the early days, Seiko offered the SKX007 on a rather cheap Oyster bracelet but nowadays this watch is only available with Jubilee bracelet or rubber strap, which is rather stiff unless you curl it up and boil it in hot water (really!) icon smileSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review

Some online sellers like Chronograph.com offers the SKX007 in a variety of bands: NATO, Z-22 rubber, Jubilee or aftermarket Oyster bracelet (Model 48A2-JG) like the one I have. A number of 7s26-002x owners have gotten the so-called “Super Oyster” heavy duty bracelet.

AFAIK, the Super Oyster is not an original replacement bracelet from Seiko although the text “SEIKO” is embossed on the clasp. In my past research I have yet to find a Seiko watch that is factory fitted with the “Super Oyster” bracelet.

Would I buy this watch again? You bet! The SKX007 is an inexpensive watch and it feels good to wear it on both a bracelet and a strap, so I got two of them. I left the first SKX007J original while the second one, I swapped the hands for the ones from the Seiko SBDA001 diver, known as the “Titanium Samurai”. It’s a subtle mod but it works out fine. The modded SKX007J is now on a De Rivoli 22mm carbon fiber strap.

 

Here are some photos of my two SKX007Js on a bracelet and a Cordura strap:

 

img 7341 resize thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review skx007j 5809 medium thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review pmmm 2106 resize thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review pmmm 1813 resize thumbSeiko SKX007J Divers 200m review

 

What I liked:

  • Elegant, classic lines - a true descendant from the earlier Seiko diver models.
  • Very good lume, very legible dial
  • Smooth action bezel with distinctive clicks
  • Affordable
  • Looks good in various strap options
  • Availability of aftermarket custom parts

 

What I didn’t care for:

  • Crown is a bit difficult to screw-in
  • Lume could have been brighter like the SKX779K Monster
  • Oyster bracelet option not available, must be purchased separately

     

    Quartzimodo’s Rating

    Price: 4 star5Seiko SKX007J Divers 200m review
    Looks: 4 star51Seiko SKX007J Divers 200m review
    Build quality: 3 half star5Seiko SKX007J Divers 200m review
    Features: 3 star5Seiko SKX007J Divers 200m review
    Value for money: 4 half star4Seiko SKX007J Divers 200m review
    Overall: 4star1174Seiko SKX007J Divers 200m review

     

    Originally posted 2008-03-15 23:32:50.

    Did you enjoy this post? Why not leave a comment below and continue the conversation, or subscribe to my feed and get articles like this delivered automatically to your feed reader.

    Comments

    nice nice blog !! I like very much the skx007 too, it's a wonderfull diver's, as you said.
    Thanks!

    Thanks Outremer2! I can tell you that writing reviews is very hard work.

    I also like my SKX007Js too and I won't be selling them either! They're destined to become classics someday. :-)

    cheers,

    Quartzimodo.

    [...] with this Alba 7s26 diver is the rather mediocre lume. It’s slightly dimmer as the Seiko SKX007 and certainly nowhere near the brightness of the Seiko Sawtooth, Sumo, Knight or Monster. I would [...]

    Where can I get a skx007k in KL under USD150 (RM480) ?

    And, r there zulu's or rhino straps sold in KL?

    Bjjboss,

    Try the stores at the Pertama Complex, especially those on the first floor upstairs. Most SKX007Ks come in 22mm Jubilee bracelet (no longer Oyster) and they cost RM500 upwards after discount.

    Do note that Seiko Malaysia has raised prices of their 7s-caliber watches a few times since 2003. As for your question on Zulu/Rhino straps, you have to scout around the premium shopping malls in KL.

    I have not seen either kind of straps for sale yet. Good luck in your hunt! :-)

    Quartzimodo

    Hats off to your reviews dude. Your writing had me salivating like a hungry dog that I just couldn't resist buying my skx007 at One Utama's Watatime for $187.5 (RM600) ...man.

    I wished you had affiliate links to them bro so that I coulda bought thru your id, but lacking that, I found a suitable homage workaround (wink, wink).

    Heck, I KNOW you could ADD more money besides your current adsense and chitika through this blog (which is okay,...but ur leavin' a lotta dough on da table for someone with your talents, bro)

    Just check out the info on the links blogorbuild.sitesell.com/items1.html for more info on what I mean.

    Dude....you got a new groupee...(I mean that in the strictest non-sexual way laa...ahem).

    Lookin' forward dude. :)

    Man I tried to post to you twice already. But the post didn't come up,... was it spammy?

    I just said that your reviews were awesome and that you just got another seiko junkee and you blog another groupee.

    Anywayz, i wish I coulda paid homage to ya by buying my skx007 thru your affiliate link but you had none (but I found other ways wink wink) and I just couldn't wait since your reviews had me salivating like a hungry dog for days, so I just went to Watattime One Utama to get my rubber 007 for $187.50 (RM600). Daaayum! I know...I paid steeply.

    Any wayz, check out my Uniform Resource Identifier for good info on getting more thru your already high quality journalistic blogging prowess.

    Man I tried to post to you 3 times already. But the post didn't come up,... wassup wit dat?

    I just said that your reviews were awesome and that you just got another seiko junkee and your blog another groupee.

    Anywayz, i wish I coulda paid homage to ya by buying my skx007 thru your affiliate link but you had none (but I found other ways wink wink) and I just couldn't wait since your reviews had me salivating like a hungry dog for days, so I just went to Watattime One Utama to get my rubber 007 for $187.50 (RM600). Daaayum! I know...I paid steeply.

    Man I tried to post to you twice already. But the post didn't come up,... wassup wit dat?

    I just said that your reviews were awesome and that you just got another seiko junkee and you blog another groupee.

    Anywayz, i wish I coulda paid homage to ya by buying my skx007 thru your affiliate link but you had none (but I found other ways wink wink) and I just couldn't wait since your reviews had me salivating like a hungry dog for days, so I just went to Watattime One Utama to get my rubber 007 for $187.50 (RM600). Daaayum! I know...I paid steeply.

    Any wayz, check out blogorbuild.sitesell.com/items1.html for good info on getting more thru your already high quality journalistic blogging prowess.

    Hi,

    Sorry if your post didn't come up automatically as I'm having some issues with the self-hosted WordPress. With the free WordPress.com, if you have posted once and your post is approved your further comments will appear without needing approval.

    I don't have affiliate links in my blog - it's just that I haven't put up all links to the watch stores that I'd recommend.

    The price you paid (RM600) is rather on the high side for a SKX007K on rubber because you can get one with the solid link Jubilee bracelet for that kind of money. Add another RM100, you can get the latest Seiko 5 Sports SKZ249K/251K on rubber if you know where to shop.

    Thanks for your kind comments about my blog, appreciate it. :-)

    Quartzimodo.

    Hello quartzimodo,

    First i would like to congrat u 4 writing this 'poison', what i mean is u already have me hallucinating about the skx007 sitting at my wrist...Hehehe..

    U c, i'm searching for another watch ...(currently i'm a proud owner of a Black Monster). I like the overall look of the skx007... and maybe plan to get it with the presidential bracelet. After looking around KL.. i've found some of the chrome pointer look some how corroded... is this thing ever happen to you Skx007 and u know anything about it?

    I know some of the watch sitting at the display table are old stock maybe due to time this thing happened, as in older seiko diver watch i've seen in secondhand shop at CM have the same problem .... or seiko have notice and solved this problem with the new production of skxoo7?

    TQ.

    Hello nar_eem,

    None of my SKX007s have corroded hands. You should buy from a store that has a high turnover of Seiko divers, so you'll know they have frequent fresh stock.

    Check out the stores at Pertama Complex, (on the 1st floor upstairs next to the escalator), they normally have new SKX007K's (not the "J" version, it's not sold here).

    I would not advise you to buy from the Central Market's vintage watch store unless you're prepared to pay tourist prices.

    You're better off buying vintage Seikos at the Amcorp flea market in PJ on Sundays or purchase from eBay instead. My personal recommendation is Thewatchworks Store on eBay.

    That said, I have bought vintage Seikos from both sources in the past.

    cheers,

    Q.

    Mr quartzimodo,

    thanx for the reply. i would to ask you, since you bought yours on the net... erm did you pay Malaysian gov custom tax and how much did you pay. If the tax are ok ,maybe i would like to aquire the watch from Skywatches singapore or from online seller in hongkong. this is because the watch shop in KL does not stock the Skx007 with presidential bracelet.

    Hello Nar_eem,

    Sorry, I didn't realize that you have replied to the post. Malaysia has no import duties on watches, cameras and electronic goods (unlike before the early 80s) therefore none of the watches I buy online are taxed.

    In Malaysia SKX007s come only in two versions - either Z22 rubber or Jubilee bracelet. AFAIK, the President-style bracelet is fitted only to the SKXA53 and SKXA55.

    Some sellers allow mix-and-match requests, that's why you can get the President bracelet with the SKX007.

    Hope this helps!

    Nice review! I'm contemplating someminor mods/repiars on my SKX173, it certainly could use a new crystal (not sure what to do about that).

    Have you ever seen the older style sweep hand with ball on the long end red tipped?

    Hi Abouna,

    Thanks for your comments. Your SKX173 uses the same flat crystal (it's not compatible with the 6309-704x diver's crystal, which is thicker) as the other models in the 7s26-002x range.

    Contact me via my blog's contact page if you need help in getting an original Seiko crystal.

    I'm not sure what you meant by the red-tipped hand, were you referring to the SKXA49K Black Knight's second hand?

    Quartzimodo.

    Mr Quartzimodo thanx for the info regarding the import duties ..... Now I'm gonna find the cheapest SkX007 on the Net... fingers Cross

    Thanx again..

    Quartzimodo,

    Thanks for the reply.

    To clarify: I was thinking that the round ball second hand might look nice red tipped instead of lumed (the lume is nearly impossible to follow anyway). I'm referring of course to the older style with the ball on the tip.

    Hello Abouna,

    You can send your SKX173 to professional watch modders like Jack Alexyon (IWW), Duarte Mendoca or Ken Setser (they're based in the USA) to have your second hand painted red.

    Or if you're savvy with opening up watches, you can do it yourself. Use a hobbyist enamel paint like Tamiya or Humbrol - should work wonders.

    I prefer lume on the second hand, whether at the tip or the opposite end. The lumed second hand is to comply with ISO standards for diver's watches.

    Its primary function is to let the diver know that the watch is functioning underwater for obvious safety reasons. Divers have no need for exact-to-the-second timing.

    Quartzimodo.

    Great review! The only thing I don't like about the standard skx007 is that they only come with a mineral crystal so I changed mine to a sapphire.

    Thanks Pez.

    If Seiko fitted sapphire crystal to the SKX007 its price would be much higher. This diver's watch was meant for the masses and I think Seiko intended the SKX007 to be a workhorse, daily wear timepiece.

    While sapphire is more desirable, it's more shatter-prone than regular Hardlex glass. Most people can live with scratches on their crystals but not if the crystal is shattered.

    Hardlex has always been Seiko's choice for their professional diver range, including the very expensive SBBN011 Professional 1000m.

    I would only upgrade to sapphire if any of my diver's watch gets scratched - thankfully, so far I have never managed to scratch any of my watch crystals. :-)

    Quartzimodo.

    [...] then on I only wear at least my 100m rated watches to the swimming pool and better still, my SKX007J [...]

    Hi there,

    I am quite intresting in the first(from left side) customizing watch in 2nd row of your customizing column.
    That is exactly watch I dream for.
    I am wondering where I can buy one or who can customize for me?
    BTW, I also like to know the type number of the watch, eg.SkXoo7 or something?
    Please let me know!
    appreciate a lot!

    Hi Steven,

    Is this the watch that you were referring to?

    quartzimodo.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/03/1167512751.jpg

    Your blog is interesting!

    Keep up the good work!

    Thank you for the compliments, Alex! :-)

    [...] Thankfully Seiko didn’t skimp on the clasp (like they did with the SKA013P Kinetic  and SKX007 diver bracelets) and it’s the kind that everyone likes – the triple lock type with the twin [...]

    Dear Quartz,

    Where did you get your oyster bracelet? Is it a super oyster or oyster?

    The one you have is a solid link or folded link bracelet?

    Cheers...

    Hi Qoo,

    I got it from through my watchmaker, who in turn ordered it from the Seiko parts center. It's the same bracelet that is fitted to the currently sold SNA225P quartz chrono.

    The 48A2-JG bracelet has solid links but is not the same as the "Super Oyster" one, which is neither made by Seiko nor fitted to any of its models. The SO bracelet is aftermarket.

    The Seiko folded linked model is the 44G4-BE, which is standard with the SKX013K Submariner, also measuring 22mm but will leave an unsightly gap at the lugs for the 7s26-002x and 7002-700x/729x divers.

    cheers,

    Quartzimodo

    [...] of that model, whether you really adore the watch or not. Which probably explains why the evergreen SKX007 mechanical diver is still in production today since 1996 while some exotic designs like the Sky [...]

    Hi Quartz,

    Thank you very much for all your sharing...

    I'll be getting a one as my birthday present. The one you have in the pix are using the bracelet for the SNA225P?

    I'll be getting it from the Desmond in the Pusat Jam Pertama. Hope he can change the bracelet to the SNA225P.
    Very nice guy indeed.

    Thank you, I'll be posting my review or comment to you...

    cheers...

    Hi Quartz,

    Regarding the comment about the crown being difficult to screw in, is this due to the threads not always lining up or due to the crown guards getting in the way of fingers?

    Great review and thanks for the info!

    Markus

    Hi Qoo,

    The SKX007K would certainly make a nice birthday gift. :-) To answer your question, I happened to find out at a watch store that the SNA225P's bracelet would fit 7s26-002x divers and I ordered the bracelets separately.

    Very few watch stores are willing to swap bracelets due to these reasons:

    1. Changing bracelets may cause blemishes on the unsold watch, leading to customers avoiding them.

    2. A bracelet costs more as a standalone part than a watch that comes standard with it, making costing difficult for the seller.

    Your best bet is to personally order the bracelet from Thong Sia.

    Good luck! :-)

    Quartzimodo

    Hi Quartz,

    Thank you for the info.

    I'll check with Desmond if he can order the bracelet & change it for me.
    Keeping my finger cross...

    By the way, how much did you get the bracelet for?

    cheers...

    Hi Markus,

    The crown being hard to screw in is a common complaint with the SKX007, but that doesn't mean ALL of these watches have crown thread problems.

    My SKXA35's crown on the other hand, is easier to screw in compared to my two SKX007Js and SKX011J. Without doing a census on e.g., a hundred 7s26-002x diver owners it's impossible to conclude whether the North American divers (e.g. SKX173, SKXA35) have crown threads machined to better tolerances.

    One thing that's certain, I don't think it's a crown guard issue - more probably the threads not lining up precisely.

    The SKX007 and its siblings are the most mass produced Seiko diver and minor QC problems are likely to arise during production.

    Quartzimodo.

    Qoo,

    I don't remember the price I paid for the 48A2-JG bracelet, I bought it about three years ago and didn't keep the receipt.

    The quicker way of ordering the bracelet is for you to go to the Seiko service center personally. If it's in stock, you're good to go.

    Otherwise, you'll need to pay a deposit and wait a couple of months for the bracelet to arrive. The service center will happily size the bracelet for your wrist at no extra charge.

    Quartzimodo.

    Hi Quartz,

    Just got the watch & also the bracelet. But the at the shop can't fit the 48A2-JG bracelet to the lug of the watch. The pin miss the lug's hole by 1-2mm...
    How & where did you get yours to fitted? Did you do some modification to the new oyster bracelet?

    Now I got the Jubilee on the watch & looking at the oyster bracelet... :-(

    cheers...

    Hi Qoo,

    I bought the bracelet at the Seiko service center itself, after waiting for it for three months. Brought my SKX007J and had it fitted free-of-charge.

    I can't remember what sort of spring bars were fitted, but I recall that the technician took some time to find the correct ones that would fit the Oyster bracelet.

    Note that the fat spring bars from the Z-22 rubber strap cannot fit into the Oyster's end pieces.

    Congrats on the watch and bracelet! :-)

    Quartzimodo.

    Hi Quartz,

    Found that the bracelet is a 48A2-GI, not a 48A2-JG... Opps... My mistake as I just told the watch shop the watch model SNA225P...

    Now got the bracelet to fit in, but need to bend the end of the flange by a bit.
    It fits the pin but have some gap between the bezel & the bracelet. :-(

    Can both of the bracelet's end link interchangeable? If yes, hope Thong Sia have them (48A2-JG end link)...

    Keeping my finger cross...

    Cheers...

    Hi Qoo,

    Just remembered - the 48A2-JG bracelet is also referred to as the 48A2-GI. I'm not sure what are the minor physical differences between the two.

    There shouldn't be a wide gap between the bezel and bracelet end piece and that the end piece will not be perfectly (horizontally) flush with the watch case.

    My bracelets were bought whole, with the end pieces included. You may need to fiddle with with the slant of the end pieces so that they cover the watch wall as much as possible.

    Thong Sia may or may not have the end links separately. Worse comes to worst, you may have to buy a whole set of bracelet altogether.

    Good luck!

    Quartzimodo Admin.

    Hi Quartz,

    The end link is flush to the watch case. Just that it's slant of the end pieces (facing outside) is bit lower than the lug of the watch case. If by fiddling do help, I'll give it a try.

    cheers...

    [...] I recalled the SKX031K sharing the same hour and minute hands as the evergreen SKX007 diver and politely told the store owner that it wasn’t the watch I was looking [...]

    Dear Friends,

    I was told that Seiko Quartz Diver (either SHC 033, or SHC 015) is very accurate. I am looking for one of these quartz watches.

    I will be very happy if you could give me some info about these watches and help me to find one. My e-mail is vkendirli@yahoo.com

    Best regards from Canada . . .

    Serdal
    Master Mariner
    B.C., Canada

    Dear Serdal,

    It's very obvious that quartz watches are more accurate than mechanical counterparts. :-) The SHC033/015 is a model that is mostly sold in North America and it may have been discontinued for some time. SHC-series divers are powered by the single-jewel, 7N36 quartz caliber and they run for 4 years on a new battery.

    The SHC033 is considered a mid-sized diver and it is a bit smaller and thinner than the SKX007 diver.

    You may be able to find one from Amazon.com or the various online watch retailers. Good luck! :-)

    Quartzimodo Admin.

    The mod red second hand is wicked. Could you provide some direction where I might find one? Thanks

    Hi Chris,

    If I recall correctly, that red second hand was originally from one of the Seiko 5 watch models (I don't know which exact model). The owner, Mike cut neatly off the ball end leaving the second hand looking like a speedometer pointer.

    It's one of the best looking mods, IMO. :-)

    Quartzimodo Admin.

    [...] models adopted a slimmer case, almost similar to the contemporary 7s26-002x divers (such as the SKX007) that is being sold today. It also sported all-rectangular hour markers and a V-shaped 12 [...]

    [...] on I make it a point to wear at least a 100m rated watch to the swimming pool or better still, my SKX007J [...]

    Very informative review, great job! I have an SKX007K on the way, I also have a 7002-7039 older brother to the 007 that I have owned for over 16 years, works as good today as it did new, I am sure I will also get the same from the 007, thanks, Rob.

    Thank you, Rob! :-)

    I doubt that you will not enjoy your forthcoming SKX007K, it's a robust watch that gives a lot of bang for the buck! It's not unusual for avid Seiko diver collectors to own more than two of them, with some of them having half a dozen or more in varying customization levels.

    The 7s26-0020 was a natural progression from the previous generation 7002 divers. The 7s26 caliber proved to be Seiko's bread-and-butter entry level automatic movement and it's production has spanned for more than a decade (compared to the relatively short lived 7002).

    The SKX007K's dial and hands are of better quality than the 7002 divers, as evidenced by more 7002 divers having dials and hands in faded condition compared to the earliest batches of the 7s26-0020 divers. I have a used 7002-700A diver but unfortunately it came with an aftermarket dial. According to the seller, it is extremely difficult to find 7002 divers with original dials in acceptable condition. That goes for the 2nd generation 6309-729x divers too.

    Enjoy your new diver in good health! :-)

    Quartzimodo Admin.

    Any chance you could send along or post a picture of your skx007 with the carbon fiber strap? I am torn between that and a Kevlar strap and can't seem to find any pictures. My email is shapiros at Gmail dot com. Thanks a lot for your help and the infomative review.

    Hi Sam,

    Sure, I'll have to dig up my old photos of my SKX007J on the carbon fiber band. I'll send them to you when I find them. :-)

    Quartzimodo Admin

    Quartzimodo,

    Care to share your view on the Orient Mako? How come it is cheaper than the SKX007 - is it because the Mako doesn't follow ISO standards for dive watches like the SKX007?

    It also seems that The Orient Mako is more of a dress watch vs the SKX007 which is more of a tool watch.

    Cheers,

    Ramzi

    Hi Ramzi,

    While Orient is owned by the Seiko Holdings Group, Orient has its own pricing structure for its products. The "Mako" or officially known as the CEM65001/002 is cheaper than the SKX007K diver because:

    a) Branding - Seiko is more renowned than Orient globally. If Orient priced the Mako similar to the SKX007K, consumers who are non-watch enthusiasts will tend to go for the Seiko brand.

    b) The Mako is a 200m sports watch and not an ISO certified diver. True divers will obviously cost more due to the construction of the watch. The Mako also has a quickset date changing pusher. That means an additional water entry point which has to be addressed and doing so would incur higher production costs. For some reason, Orient prefers to concentrate on dress and sports watches rather than true divers.

    The Orient Mako is a handsome watch in its own right, but unfortunately let down by its poor lume. New Orient models now make use of Seiko's patented LumiBrite luminous compound but at the time Orient introduced the Mako the company used its own lume. If lume brightness is not a priority for you, the Mako is an excellent everyday wear to the office and to casual outings. :-)

    Quartzimodo Admin.

    Thanks for the info Quartzimodo. I have the Sumo, so I'm going to sell off the SKX007K and buy a BLUE Mako. I think they should have ignored the date pusher and just concentrate to make it an ISO diver

    I know that the SKX007 is ISO certified, but I have more confidence in bringing my G-Shock underwater.

    Anothe major issue in the forums are the hollow-end link bracelets - do you think that is a real issue? Also does Orient sell bracelets with solid end links?

    Hi Ramzi,

    Most Seiko diver's watch enthusiasts won't feel "complete" unless they have at least a 7s26-0020 (SKX007 and its siblings) diver! I would not sell off the SKX007K if I were you as Seiko is raising their watch prices every six months or so. The Mako is a more affordable watch, you can easily buy it anytime. I haven't noticed the local Orient distributor jacking up its watch prices as significant as Seiko's distributor (Thong Sia).

    In other words, should you have a case of seller's remorse (many do!), buying a new SKX007K to replace the one you sold will incur more costs. You might as well keep your existing SKX007K - it's a tool watch, reliable and long lasting. G-Shocks are made of resin/plastic - in hot and humid weather like Malaysia, the resin material degrades over time. I had a Casio DW5900, purchased in 1995 but the watch case had slightly deformed over the years and its LCD wasn't functioning properly. It wasn't worth the cost of repairing it, so I threw it away.

    The SKX007K on the other hand, is built to last a lifetime. If the watch is not abused, one of your grandsons will get to inherit and wear it someday! :-)

    Orient does have models with solid end links, like their 2ER00001B "Submariner" for example. I don't know if the bracelet from the Submariner is compatible with the Mako's though. No, I don't think hollow end links would pose any problem except for personal preferences.

    Quartzimodo Admin.

    Sold it already to a colleague, but I told it if he wants to sell it back to me 2-3 years down the road I'll buy it hahahahahahahah

    Hello Orient Mako!!!!!

    Hi!

    I have been researching on buying a skx007j as well and came across these websites

    chronograph-divers-watches
    21jewels
    fashion-jewelry-watches-online

    I read your post on how to spot a fake Seiko, but still couldn't figure out whether those sites are real or not. I'm wondering if you know whether these websites are legit and whether they sell authentic watches. Thanks a log Quartzimodo!!!

    Hi James,

    I can vouch for 21jewels.com but I can't say the same for the other two watch online sellers. Mr Freddie Seow runs 21jewels.com from Singapore and he has an excellent reputation amongst veteran Seiko watch buyers all over the world. Word of caution though - if you're not sure of an online seller's reputation and reliability, never purchase using Western Union. Use PayPal instead for your purchase protection in case you get scammed.

    cheers,

    Quartzimodo.

    Hi Quartzimodo,

    I'm planning to buy an SKX009J on Rubber from Chronograph. Hope you can tell me, if I order from them will the watch be directly sent to my Mailing Address or I would have to travel all the way to freaking LCCT to pick up the watch at Customs? Pertama Complex quoted me RM600 for the SKX009K, but Chronograph is selling the J for slightly more, that's why I want to buy it from Chronograph.com. Appreciate your feedback as they give the best price!!!

    Cheers,

    Ramzi

    Hi Ramzi,

    All watches ordered by post will be delivered to your doorstep. :-) The only instance where you have to self-collect is when the postman is unable to deliver the registered parcel to your address with someone to sign for it. Even then, he will leave a card stating the nearest parcel collection center to collect your watch. No, certainly not at the entry point at the airport! ;-)

    IMO, the "J" version is worth paying a bit more if you like a unique version of the SKX009. Not everyone subscribes to this line of thinking however and they're content with the cheaper "K" variety.

    Quartzimodo Admin.

    Congratulations on a fantastic website with such a wealth of information. With your help, I went from knowing nothing about Seikos (other than that I had one when I was young, about 25 years ago) to being in a position to buy what I think is the perfect model -- all in the course of an afternoon. I just ordered a SKX007J from chronograph.com and am very much looking forward to it! I was so pleasantly surprised to find out that Seiko still makes automatic watches -- and quite a few of them at very reasonable prices. (Speaking of automatic and prices, my daily watch is a 1967 Rolex, which just cost me $1000 (U.S.) to refurbish. I didn't even know anything was wrong with it! Maybe it shouldn't be my daily watch...) What didn't pleasantly surprise me, however, was the "J" versus "K" issue. I left a lengthy comment about this on your SKXA35 page, so I won't repeat myself here. But, suffice it to say that I gladly paid a little extra and ordered from a store halfway around the world to get the Japanese-made version. Anyway, the 007 strikes me as a very special watch, which I'll be proud to have. And if it lives up to its very fine reputation, who knows what will happen to my "Swiss-made bias"??? Thanks for being there!

    Hi Jim,

    Many thanks for your kind words and for your interesting question. The fact is that Seiko has had their overseas plant in Seiko (since 1997 Hong Kong was annexed into China) even in the late 1980s. Labor is cheaper in Hong Kong compared to Japan and the (then) Hattori Watch Company, currently known as the Seiko Holdings Group offloads the assembly of their mass produced models to China.

    Whether the "J" versions are actually assembled in Japan instead of China still remains a debate amongst avid Seiko pundits in the various watch forums. For all intents and purposes, for this watch blog I follow Seiko's labeling on their watches, e.g. if it says "Made in Japan" then I'll just state that it's cased in Japan as not to cause confusion.

    I have a draft post on the "J" vs "K" issue in the pipeline but I haven't completed and published it yet due to other commitments and other interests. It will be a rather long read and I haven't decided whether to split it into two parts or publish as one post. Have no fear, Seiko's quality control is one of the best out there. I once owned a Timex analog digital which was made in the Philippines and the watch's build quality didn't match the price I paid for it. I would never buy a Timex again.

    Although Seiko is a watch company incorporated and headquartered in Japan, actually consumers like you and I benefit from their models that are made outside of Japan. All models that are 100% manufactured in Japan are priced higher to match the country's purchasing power. Rest assured that your Seiko SKX007J (whether it's made by Seiko China or Japan), gives more bang for the buck.

    If a famous Swiss marque, e.g. Tissot made a watch exactly as the SKX007 diver, you'll be paying perhaps double for the same watch. :-)

    Quartzimodo Admin.

    Thanks for the content of your article Quartizomodo. As you can see, I pulled the trigger.

    www.watchtalkforums.info/forums/showthread.php?t=25785

    Regards,

    Wayne

    Hi Wayne,

    Congrats on your purchase of a fine SKX007J. :-)

    Just a tip on posting photos in watch forums. Resize JPGs to 800x600 pixels and try to limit the number of photos to less than eight. Choose the best pics that you've taken (eliminate blurry and redundant ones). While you may be excited over your new watch, most people already know what an SKX007 diver looks like. Not everyone is on high speed broadband and dial up users will appreciate posts than don't overload their bandwidth. ;-)

    Enjoy your new watch in good health!

    Quartzimodo.

    Great article, Quartzimodo. After reading your post I bought the Seiko SKX007 and it rapidly become my favorite one.

    I like the design of the second hand specially.
    At the end of the second hand is the white round dot and from here to the middle (of the second hand) is black, the same color as the dial.

    The result? The white round dot looks like to float on the dial. The white dot seems not belong to the second hand hand at all. Take the watch to dim light room and free your imagination, you will see a white round planet moving in an orbit.

    Seiko SKZ243 diver has that ability, too.

    Happy watch hunting,

    Pencil 186

    Hi Pencil,

    Some folks prefer the old-style luminous dot at the tip of the second hand rather than at the short opposite end. It really doesn't matter to people who wear them for diving. What is important that the wearer knows that the watch is running in the darkness of deep water from the rotation of the second hand. These days recreational scuba divers tend to have dive computers strapped to their wrists, therefore a diver's watch worn on the other wrist would be somewhat redundant.

    Those who wear a diver's watch as well as a dive computer, do so as they love watches and want to experience their diver's watch in its intended environment. :-)

    Good choice on the SKX007!

    best regards,
    Quartzimodo.

    Hi,

    I am decided to buy seiko SKX007k but I'm not sure that the watches offered on Ebay are authentic Seiko. Is there another way to buy this watch online from a reliable seller?
    Thanks

    Hi David,

    My personal list of recommended sellers are as follows: (in no particular order of preference)

    - Pokemonyu (eBay)
    - Premier World (eBay)
    - Watches 59 (eBay)
    - Chronograph.com
    - Wayne's Watch World
    - Watches88
    - Creation Watches
    - 21 Jewels

    Do a price comparison of the above vendors. Since you're in the U.S. be sure to account for the shipping and handling fees charged by the above sellers. Also consider their respective return policies and warranties, if applicable.

    Hope this helps,
    Quartzimodo

    Hi,

    thanks a lot!!!!

    David

    Pokemonyu is great. I received a SKX007 for around 145 us, including free shipping, within 2 weeks of my purchase.

    I had this watch once, sold it, and repurchased. I think it is most comfortable on a jubilee band, imho.

    Hi Eric,

    Congrats on the purchase of your SKX007! It's a fine classic Seiko diver that will last you literally for decades to come, provided that it's not abused. Pokemonyu delivers great value for the price you paid and considering the global price increase in raw materials and shipping charges, USD145 is quite all right compared to several years ago.

    SKX007 watches come only with either the rubber strap or the Jubilee bracelet (except from certain vendors like Chronograph.com, who is able to sell SKX007s on solid link Oyster bracelets as an option). Enjoy your watch in good health! :-)

    Quartzimodo

    I just bought one online last night. I'm super excited. I'm hoping it's as rugged as what people say, because it's going to be my daily watch come summer time. I'll put it through it's paces, that's for sure.

    I payed a bit more and bought it from a US outlet so I could get it within a few days. I was (and still am,) too excited to wait a couple of weeks to have it shipped from Asia.

    I ordered it on the standard Jubilee, but the plan is to get a couple NATO/ZULU straps and a leather strap. There's something about this watch that is so simple and clean, I think it could easily pass as a dress watch on a different strap.

    Cool review, by the way. I was having trouble finding a bunch of information on the many different diver models. You seemed to cover a bit of everything and a comparison b/w them. Very nice!

    thanks for the great revew w ,,just want to know how to tell the fake from the real ones,,

    [...] The only change I would make would be to have a brushed aluminum chapter ring I saw this mod on quartzimodo.com who said the mod belongs to Busdriver Mike. So can someone point me in the right direction as to [...]

    Hi, Quartzimodo.

    Can the lume be upgraded to be bright like the SKX779K Monster?

    Thanks in advance.

    Hi Ryan,

    This can only be done if you can find a person with expertise in dial restoration with access to Seiko's proprietary LumiBrite luminous compound as used on the Monster divers. I haven't heard of any watch restorer who's able to procure LumiBrite (Seiko doesn't sell it to the public) but the SKX007K's lume can be upgraded to generic Superluminova or NoctiLumina.

    AFAIK all the newly introduced Seiko diver's models have switched to the brighter and more sensitive version of LumiBrite. I'm not sure why Seiko stuck to the original LumiBrite formula for the SKX007 (and its direct siblings) but I guess it may have something to do with conformity (all SKX007 divers having the same type of lume) and legacy (the SKX007 was a direct descendant of the 7002-7001 diver, which had an even dimmer lume).

    Quartzimodo.

    hi Quartzi.

    Here if you like to see the accuracy of Explorer compared to the Diver's

    myexplorerclub.blogspot.com/2011/03/rolex-explorer-vs-seiko-divers-movement.html

    up the Holy Diver's :-)

    cheers.

    Hi Hab,

    Thanks for sharing the link to your blog. Good stuff, thanks. :-)

    Quartzimodo.

    hi quartzi

    in response to your review, i've decided pick one out for my son ....thinkin of buying the 007j online from singapore.

    i'm aware no customs duty is applicable on watches here but how sure are we about trouble free delivery to KL ... any incidences of packages missing in transit ?

    its my first time buying online but willing to try!

    yongers

    Hi yongers,

    To answer your question, I have not had any case of missing parcels from Japan or Singapore based sellers, except one vintage 7002-700A which was lost in transit from the U.S.A. It was a case of postal theft at the seller's end. Couriered delivery is the fastest, followed by EMS (Express Mail Service) and the slowest is by registered air mail. Malaysian Customs typically take 4-5 days to clear a shipment sent via registered air mail.

    Good luck with your first online purchase! :-)

    Quartzimodo

    [...] can readily read the time in the dark. The hour and minute hands look like the ones from the Seiko SKX007 diver but they’re not. The Knight hands have a different Seiko part number and they’re [...]

    hi mr quartzimodo, your blog is very informative, i would just like to ask if the serial number of the SKX007 is authentic, here is the serial- 780106 thnx and more power, God bless~

    i would also like to see a picture of the backpart of the watch for me to compare with the one i bought. thnx

    Hi newbiewatchman,

    Welcome to the wonderful world of Seiko watches. :-) It is not possible to verify the authenticity of a Seiko watch by merely looking at the serial numbers, unless accompanied by photos of the timepiece. If your watch were purchased brand new recently, it's likely that it's from August 2007. As for caseback pictures, check out my article on the SKX399K. Both the SKX007K and SKX399K have the same caseback design.

    cheers,
    Quartzimodo

    hello again, my watch is second hand, its like its an arabic version and i think its later than 2007 hehe, anyway, thnx for the info, more power!

    i have another question sir, what can i do if the bezel doesnt rotate? the seller told me to do just cleaning, how can i clean such? and with what can i clean it to make the bezel rotate again heheh sorry i have too much questions, God bless!

    Hi newbiewatchman,

    The best way to get a stuck rotating bezel to work is to pry it off carefully with the edge of a penknife, clean the underside with some rubbing alcohol or methylated spirit and lightly lubricate the parts with a bit of lithium grease. If you're unable to do this yourself, take your watch to a watch repairman.

    Quartzimodo

    Hi Quartzimodo,

    Love your website and the reviews...after reading your review on the SKX007J I decided to convince my wife to buy me one straight away...I received the watch about 4 days ago and have been wearing it during the day but at night it seems to keep stopping. Is this because I haven't been wearing it long enough and its not wound up tight inside? keep up the great work...I'm a huge fan.

    Cheers

    Reece
    Perth, Western australia

    hi quartzi

    i finally made my first online purchase.

    after some deliberation, we decided on a skx779k from skywatches for rm600 and delivery by fedex to KL was super efficient.

    its a great well made chunky time keeping device. think i will get another one for myself this coming father day.

    peace

    yongers

    [...] [...]

    Hi Q. Excellent site. My old 150 m Seiko divers watch; the 7548-700B quartz movement model is now in urgent need of some new parts - a new dial, glass, bezel, strap etc. I've had this watch since new, and after seeing your site, I'd now like to customize it. Please, where can I buy custom parts ? Thanks

    Hi MaxCat,

    While the 7548 diver can accommodate hands and bezel meant for the vintage 6309-729x series divers, its dial may not be interchangeable if the 6309's dial feet positions differ from that of the 7548 quartz diver.

    Check out Dagaz Watches Ltd at www.10watches.com and ask if their custom 6309 dials can be fitted into your watch.

    Good luck! :-)

    Quartzimodo

    Hey Quartzimodo, i just happened to stumble upon your post and i wanted to ask you about the mod you did to your 007. I have the skx173 and i wanted to swap out the hands for those of the seiko Sumo, which as i can see by your pictures look exactly like the samurai hands. i took it to the jewelers and they told me that the seconds hand of the Sumo didnt fit on my 173, did you have any problems installing the seconds hand onto your 007? Thanks and great post.

    Hi German,

    That mod which I did to one of my SKX007J is a pseudo PMMM (Poor Man's Marine Master) mod.

    The actual recipe for a PMMM mod would be like this:
    1. Start off with a stock SKX171K diver (not SKX173).
    2. Replace the original bezel with that from the SKX007K
    3. Swap the hands with the SBDA001 Ti Samurai's.

    Since I don't really fancy having to swap my SKX007J's dial with that of the SKX171K's, I opted to leave it as it is. All 7s-caliber watches have the same diameter for their hands, therefore an interchange should not be any problem. I have done this to my SNM011K S/S Samurai; I didn't like its original wimpy thin hands, so I switched them with the SBDA001's hands. They look really great on the SNM011K diver and I think Seiko should've chosen the Ti Samurai's hands instead.

    I've also retrofitted my orange Seiko 5 Sports SKZ227K "Mapmeter" with the Orange Monster's hands, which are more legible and glow brighter than the factory issued ones. No problems whatsoever. In some cases, watch hands from another caliber may NOT be compatible with the 7s26. The Sumo comes from the 6R15 family; and may explain why you can't get 100% cross-compatibility with your SKX173 diver.

    cheers,
    Quartzimodo

    H Quartzimodo, great review, it inspired me to pull the trigger on an SKX007K a couple of weeks ago. The lume isn't anywhere near as "nuclear" as your and other reviews had me believe, and doesn't last over an hour after a direct charge (by 20-30 minutes it's extremely dim). Is this normal, or should I get it checked at the retailer?

    Hi Chris,

    Congratulations on getting the SKX007K diver! :-)
    For some reason, the marketing folks at Seiko decided that all 7s26-002x based divers (including the SKX007K) should use the standard grade, LumiBrite phosphorescent material for its hands and hour markers. It has been this way since it was first introduced in 1996. Although Seiko had developed a brighter and longer lasting LumiBrite (used in the Monster, Sawtooth, Knight models, etc), they've decided not to use the higher grade LumiBrite for the SKX007K family.

    I've read comments that the post 2010 manufactured, SKX007K divers aren't up to notch like their earlier counterparts, but this the first time I've heard an owner complaining about the SKX007K's lume being poor. At this point, you need to compare your watch with a similar one; preferably one made after 2010. If the other watch's lume performs as badly as yours, then there's not much you can do about it.

    On the other hand, if the other watch consistently glows brighter and longer than yours, it could be that your particular piece isn't up to the normal standards (it didn't pass quality control). You can claim warranty (if you have one) or have it exchanged with another new watch.

    Remember, you need a similar SKX007K in order to verify whether the poorly performing lume is peculiar to your watch or otherwise. Don't compare with something like the SKX779K Black Monster or a recent model, Seiko 5 Sports as they are coated with the brighter and extra sensitive version of LumiBrite. Bring a powerful LED torch to the watch store (if you have an ultraviolet UV LED torch, it's even better) to compare your lume performance with another SKX007K at the watch store.

    Although Seiko maintains a tight quality assurance, sometimes the occasional lemon does slip by its random QC checks. The LumiBrite paste that's painted on the hands and dial at the factory should be of a consistent thickness. If the LumiBrite paste is too diluted, the lume wouldn't be strong enough to glow. If you're able to demonstrate how poor your watch lume is compared to another SKX007K, I should think you can claim a warranty exchange with a new watch.

    hope this helps,
    Quartzimodo

    Thanks for the reply! I gathered as much about manufacturing differences in the 2010+ models (from Adrian at Skywatches), and mine seems to be a 2012. Considering how popular these watches seem to be, they're hard to come by in the wild, and the salespeople at the stores I've inquired at either can't or won't comment on the lume. Go figure. Funny enough there's a thread on watchuseek that makes the lume on my 007 sound normal. Thanks for the tips! Really enjoying this watch.

    [...] original SKX monsters, now might be a good time to get one! They will be a classic alongside the SKX 007 divers! Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted [...]

    Who customized or did the work on this one? I really like the dial and simple orange minute hand. (First column, 3rd row in the customization layout)

    quartzimodo.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/03/692507ef0.jpg

    Hi BP,

    That custom SKX007 seems to have a Bill Yao Mk II mod dial and hands. If I remember correctly Bill Yao is an independent watchmaker and he started off by designing and selling custom watch dials and hands but his company has since stopped selling custom dials and switched to making custom Mk II watches.

    I'm sorry I don't know who did the makeover for that particular SKX007K diver but it could have been Jack Alexyon of IWW.

    Quartzimodo

    [...] brought three watches along, a Seiko SKX007J diver (pictured), a Seiko SNDA57P military chrono and a Casio Pro Trek PRG110V. Posted in Seiko | [...]

    Hi Quartz,

    Great reviews on the SKX007. I got my SCUBA certificate a few months ago and it took me a long time to figure out what timepiece to bring with me to the deep blue yonder until I spotted a line of these Seiko Divers on a mall nearby. Out of necessity, I took one of them, the one with a rubber strap on a 007K, 7s26-0020 model SN 286522. What stumped me is the "WP" marking on the caseback. Pardon me but could you shed some light on its meaning? By the way it gives +/- six seconds during the past 38 hours which is its total time on my wrist to date. Thanks for your reply.

    Hi Roger,

    Congratulations on owning the SKX007K - one of Seiko's iconic and quintessential automatic diver's watches! :-)

    At this time of writing, nobody has been able to decipher what "WP" actually means. Some collectors are guessing that these letters could signify the Seiko factory or location in China, but I neither agree nor disagree with this opinion. Historically, SKX007 models with the "K" designation had just the letter "A" on the caseback, while the "J" models had "JAPAN A" stamped. When Seiko began adding "WP" to the casebacks, the most logical assumption is that these letters stood for the factory where the watch was assembled.

    But what I have noticed is that, 7s26-0020 models (including the SKX007K) that were manufactured from 2010 onwards came with the mysterious "WP" letters. Apart from the extra lettering, there are no distinguishable visual clues to differentiate the "WP version" from pre-2010 timepieces. However, around the same time the SKX779K and SKX781K "Monster" diver's models also started rolling off the assembly lines with the letters "KG" stamped on their casebacks. Unlike the SKX007K, the Seiko Monsters with the "KG" designation has an all-polished caseback; whereas their predecessors (without the "KG" initials) had their center tsunami wave logo sandblasted in matte finish.

    If "WP" and "KG" denoted the factories where these watches originated, it doesn't make much sense because:

    a) As of 2013, only the 7s26-0020 (SKX007K) and the 7s26-0350 (SKX779K) have "WP" and "KG" markings respectively.
    b) These two diver's models would be have been economically made at the same plant.
    c) Other Seiko models, e.g. the Seiko 5 family that are also China-assembled have neither "WP" nor "KG". Not any that I know of anyway.

    Only Seiko Japan is able to provide the answers to the "WP" and "KG" puzzle, but they are unlikely to divulge insider information to the general public. :-(

    Your watch is fairly new and from the serial numbers and the "WP" caseback inscription it's made on August 2012 with the latest 7s26C movement fitted. A variation of six seconds in the past 38 hours is considered accurate considering that the older 7s26A movements tended to run pretty fast out of the box.

    hope this helps. :-)
    Quartzimodo

    Hello Quartzimodo

    I am the owner of a number of these 7s26 watches

    I was not aware of the 007 still being produced! I purchased mine from creation and received a WP marked watch with serial 0961xx. I had not realised mine may be a 2010 model.

    However, like you said, it runs fast out of the box (+20secs per day) Would you know if my watch has a 7s26C movement? How can I get it to + or - 6secs?

    Hi Jay B,

    Apologies for the late response to your question. Your SKX007J would definitely be from 2010 (Sept 2010 to be exact) since its caseback has the additional "WP" marking on it. If it were from the year 2000, it would be stamped as "JAPAN A" without the "WP" text and have the original 7s26A movement like mine.

    New Seiko automatic watches are deliberately set to run fast at the factory so that the watch errs on the safer side of time keeping, i.e., it's better to show up early than late for an appointment. In time (no pun intended), the movement should settle down and gradually become more accurate as you wear it. I think your SKX007J should have the 7s26C caliber as the the short-lived 7s26B were fitted to 7s26-0020 divers (including the SKX007J) and didn't have the "WP" letters on the caseback.

    I would recommend that you regularly continue wearing your watch for the next six months and see if the watch runs "too fast". In fact, +20 sec/day is still within Seiko's factory specs but if you want it to be more accurate, have your watch regulated by a competent watchmaker. The best practice to regulate a mechanical watch is to have it re-adjusted once a week over a span of several weeks, allowing for the movement to respond to the watchmaker's initial tuning. This is because mechanical movements need fine-tuning (rather than coarse) over a period of time because your daily activity and lifestyle with the watch worn also affects its accuracy. With patience and additional trips to your watchmaker, you may be able to get it to run within +/- 6 seconds per day.

    And yes, the SKX007 diver is one of Seiko's evergreen, best-selling models to this day - this is why they're still made since 1996. As a profit minded company, Seiko will only discontinue models that are not selling that well (we're talking about hundreds of thousands of pieces per year). :-)

    cheers,
    Quartzimodo

    hi ! have bought a seiko my first !! rely scared thats a fake ,i have pictures have take vhit my camera how can i send them too you?

    Hi pelle,

    Just upload the JPG photo to Tinypic.com, copy its URL link to the uploaded image and reply in this comments thread with the link to your watch photos. Easy! :-)

    cheers,
    Quartzimodo

    cant you please email me at pellegrafstrom@yahoo.se and i send tehe Picture by mail? it too difficult the other way i dont can understand that .please ?

    here picture !!

    its my green monster ,,is it a feak you think ?

    Hi Pelle,

    Thanks for the photo link. However I could not find any references to green dialed SNZF-series Baby Monster watches - therefore I'm not able to determine its authenticity. Do you have its caseback number? It should be in the form of 7s36-xxxx. When did you purchase this watch and where did you get it from?

    Quartzimodo

    it was ebay about 5-6-7 years ago,it newer used beceause its to heavy for my veak arm,ill payed about 160 usd for it,the seller do not exccist anny more,,so ? do you want the nubers on backside ? is it worth annything ? its so VERY nice think one of the niceset disgin ever

    [...] (second digit is the month). And I know that Monsters were first produced in 2000. And that the first watches with 7S26 movements were produced in 1996. So it couldn't have been 1995 (lol!) or 2015 (lol!). But for a SKX007 with 23xxxx serial it could [...]

    Hi, where can i find corduro strap as worn by you? Need as spare for my skx007j.
    Many thanks and appreciate your kind assistance.

    Hello Ramly,

    I haven't visited the usual watch shops that I used to buy Morellato from straps years ago. The last time I checked, the local importer/distributor had switched to bringing the De Rivoli brand. You can the try checking the Mee Sing Watch shop located at the ground floor of Pertama Complex, Jln Tuanku Abdul Rahman. The shop is located on the left of the escalator with the front entrance facing the SOGO department store. To my knowledge, Mee Sing Watch is one of the very few Morellato dealers that carry the Cordura-Lorica water resistant strap. The other one would be Chun Cheong Watch & Pen store, located at the Lower Ground floor of Sungei Wang Plaza (near the Parkson Grand entrance).

    There are also some watch stores in the Mid Valley mall that sell Morellato leather straps but they don't necessarily carry the Cordura-Lorica ones. If you can't find one locally, you might want to buy online. Here's an example of a 22mm Cordura-Lorica strap in olive green. I have one in that same color but a thinner 20mm version for my Seiko SNA141P military chrono.

    good luck with your quest! :-)
    Quartzimodo

    Hi, tqvm for the valuable info...will check it out...have a nice day...

    […] Water resistant to 30m Diameter 40.50mm Thickness 7.93mm Web info... Seiko SKX007K2 - YouTube Seiko SKX007J Diver’s 200m review Personal photos/pics of watches... Seiko1_zpse3233915.jpg Photo by lordofthering626 | Photobucket […]

    Does somebody know what the name of the 7S26 watch in the center of the last picture of the first post is?

    uhrforum.de/seiko-skx173-t110728

    I need this watch.

    Hi Andreas,

    I apologize for the late response as I've been traveling and did not bring my laptop with me.
    The Seiko watch in question (as you pointed out in the German forum), is actually a modified SKX007K with a dial from the discontinued SKX171K 200m diver's watch and the second hand replaced with the one from the SBDA001 Titanium "Samurai" diver. Therefore the watch is a mod. It's not even close to the SKX399K model that's sold in the Philippines.

    best regards,
    Quartzimodo

    Hi, i just bought this watch from creationwatches.com last week, by looking at the physical of the watch, its looking good and nicely built. I just want to ask can you give a comment/reviews about this website? are they actually selling genuine seiko watches?

    Best regards
    Kamil

    Hi Kamil,

    Several of my readers have asked me about Creation Watches in the past (not on this particular post, anyway) and my reply to them is always the same. Creation Watches sells genuine Seiko watches, except that they are all grey market pieces. You won't get an official Seiko warranty but a 2-year in-house warranty from the online seller. While they are not one of Seiko's accredited Internet Seiko online retailers, Creation Watches deal only in authentic timepieces, regardless of the brand. Buy with confidence! :-)

    cheers,
    Quartzimodo

    Great write up. Very interesting. If possible, could you give me a few pointers and guidance on how I can get the watch modified? the modified ones really are stunning. Looking forward to your reply.

    Hello Michael,

    Apologies for getting back to you late as I was busy throughout last July. :-)
    Watch modification is actually a separate subject on its own. The amount of modding done to say, the classic SKX007K diver can be as simple as changing the main hands or it can be vastly dramatic by also changing the watch dial, bezel and perhaps coating the watch case with black PVD (Physical Vapor Deposit) coating for a totally different look. You also have a choice between using compatible watch hands from another Seiko diver or a from a third party designer, e.g. Noah Fuller (Dagazwatch.com)
    There are pros and cons when it comes to sourcing the parts. With Seiko, unless you know the customer service people at Seiko they will allow you to order the necessary parts and then have them installed by a watchmaker. Note that as a policy, Seiko will not perform mods on Seiko watches. If you go for third party custom parts, you'll be able to obtain them almost immediately if they have whatever you need in stock.
    In the meantime, join Seiko watch forums if you haven't already done so. There's much to be learnt from members who are into modding watches there. :-)

    Quartzimodo

    Leave a comment

    (required)

    (required)



    8 − = two

    privacy policy